Dakota Heartstrings
My North Dakota Diary
Mountrail County
'Mountrail County was formed out of a part of Ward county in 1908, by a vote of the people. At that time Ward county comprised the present counties of Ward, Burke, Renville and Mountrail. The soil is of a rich black alluvial nature, is very prolific in yielding wheat, oats, barley, rye, flax and other cereals and vegetables. The county seat lies within the Missouri river watershed. Stanley, on the main line of the Great Northern Railway, is the county seat.' Source: North Dakota Blue Book -- 1942